Namaste

Yoga has become my new favorite activity. It’s calming. It’s peaceful. It’s relaxing. Afterward, I feel strong, centered, and balanced (literally and figuratively).

For the complete beginner, try experimenting with a YouTube video like this one, which shows you the basics and gets you started. I like the helpful cues that Adriene uses in this clip.

Or try checking out Forte Yoga or Yoga Basics. Choose one simple pose, follow the step-by-step instructions, and practice it at home.

Some of my favorite poses include Eagle, Warrior II, and Warrior III. I love balance poses. They’re challenging but make me feel so accomplished.

24-Eagle-Pose Warrior-II-Yoga-Pose Warrior-III-Yoga-Pose

I’m working on this new addition to my practice, which a dear friend introduced me to. Bird of Paradise is a beautiful pose! The name alone says it all. I need to attempt it with more fluidity and grace.

Bird-of-Paradise-Yoga-Pose

My least favorite pose is Pidgeon (or One-Legged King Pidgeon). It’s a very simple pose, but it gives me problems. My yoga instructor encourages us to continue breathing through the discomfort. Easier said than done.

One-Legged-King-Pigeon-Yoga-Pose-II

With yoga, don’t push yourself too hard. Everything can be modified and adjusted to fit your body. Practice yoga with a purpose: to become more flexible, to practice mindfulness, to find peace. Whatever it is, make it yours. Namaste.

love & peace,

signaturegrey

 

Leave a Reply

